About SAN
Annual Report
Honorary Patron
Honorary Members
Board Members

Honorary Membership

Sonic Arts Network Honorary Membership is bestowed on those who have given exceptional and distinguished service to Sonic Arts Network and have been integral to its growth and development.

Honorary Members

Trevor Wishart
Awarded Honorary Membership in 2004 for his huge contribution to Sonic Arts Network since it began in 1979. Born in Leeds, 1946, Trevor Wishart is a composer living and working in the North of England. His work spans many genres, including Sonic Arts Pieces, Music Theatre, Site-specific events (such as Beach Singularity, revived by Sonic Arts Network at Expo 966), new music theory and practice and the development of new music software.


Simon Emmerson

Simon Emmerson has been an integral part of Sonic Arts Network since it began in 1979 (then named EMAS) and his work and support has been a huge contributing factor in its continued growth. Simon works mostly with live electronics , including works for Jane Chapman (harpsichord), the Smith Quartet, Inok Paek (kayagum), Philip Sheppard (electric cello), Philip Mead (piano) with the Royal Northern College of Music Brass Quintet and purely electroacoustic commissions from the IMEB (Bourges) and the GRM (Paris). His works have been issued on Continuum, Le Chant du Monde, Emanem and Isidorart and he has contributed to and edited The Language of Electroacoustic Music (Macmillan, 1986) and Music, Electronic Media and Culture (Ashgate, 2000). He is Professor of Music, Technology and Innovation at De Montfort University, Leicester. He served on the Board of Sonic Arts Network from its inception until 2004.

Copyright Yves Flatard
Trevor Wishart

Simon Emmerson
Home | About SAN | Education | Events | Sounds | Membership | Shop | Links
Copyright 2004 Sonic Arts Network